Posted in Writing

Camp NaNoWriMo 2017 begins

Happy April! It’s the first of the month so I’m here in Internetland attending Camp NaNoWriMo. After spending the last month prepping it feels great to finally be here and ready to start writing the first draft of my urban fantasy novel!

Yes, it’s a virtual writing retreat. Yes, I’m roleplaying a little bit. Yes, I’m a nerd. Woo!

Cabin life

I had a bit of a false start with cabins. The one I joined seemed great but their cabin name was triggering me, making me think about some dark mental health times every time it came up. Not super conducive to me having fun and getting lots written. I didn’t ask if they might change it since I didn’t feel up to explaining the issue and instead decided to go elsewhere.

I’m now in a cabin with the Vloganovel crew, a lovely bunch of mostly Americans that I already hang out with when we watch Garrett Robinson, author of the awesome Underrealm books, streaming his writing. The time zone differences do mean I’m largely alone for my most active writing hours but Twitter seems a good source of word wars so I think that’ll be OK.

Being accountable to my friends is more powerful anyway. I also kinda like the idea that when they’re getting up in a morning, I can be saying that I’ve already hit my 4000+ target for the day. Hopefully that’ll be motivating for them too!

What are you writing this Camp NaNoWriMo?

 

Author:

Multi-purpose geek. Mum. User Experience Designer. Retired WoW player. Reader and writer of Science Fiction and Fantasy.

Leave a Reply

